This page is being updated and more information is coming soon!


The seven sacraments – Baptism, Confirmation, Holy Communion, Reconciliation, Marriage, Holy Orders, and Anointing of the Sick – are the life of the Catholic Church. Each sacrament is an outward sign of an inward grace. In worship, we give to God that which we owe Him; in the sacraments, He gives us the graces necessary to live a truly human life. The seven sacraments touch all the stages and important moments of Christian life.

To begin the process of receiving a sacrament please contact us, call, or visit the church office.

Sacraments of Initiation

The first three sacraments Baptism, Confirmation, and Holy Communion are called the sacraments of initiation because the rest of our life as a Christian depends on them. These are the sacraments that initiate us into full communion with the Church.

Sacrament of Baptism:

Baptism is the first sacrament received in the Roman Catholic Church. It removes the guilt and effects of Original Sin and incorporates the baptized into the Church, the Mystical Body of Christ on earth.

Prior to the Baptism of a child according to The Code of Canon Law 851, “the parents of an infant who is to be baptized and likewise those who are to undertake the office of sponsor are to be properly instructed in the meaning of this sacrament and the obligations which are attached to it; personally or through others the pastor is to see to it that the parents are properly formed by pastoral directions and by common prayer, gather several families together and where possible visiting them.” A preparation class is required for each parent and sponsor. These classes are offered on the first Sunday of the month in the church at following the 11:00 a.m. Mass. Please call the parish office to register for the class or to schedule the Baptism.

A few points for consideration by parents planning an infant Baptism:

  • The request for Baptism must come from the parent or legal guardian.

  • That parent/guardian must be Catholic and intend to teach and sacramentalize the child in the Catholic Faith.

  • Baptism is not a naming ceremony. It is the child’s entrance into the Body of Christ.

  • Only one Catholic godparent is required. There may be two godparents, but only one man and one woman.

  • The godparents must be Confirmed, practicing Catholics, 16 years of age or older.

  • If married, the godparent’s marriage must be a valid Catholic marriage.

  • Children over age seven are no longer considered infants because they have reached the age of reason and therefore require preparation for all three Sacraments of Initiation. That preparation will usually begin in September and culminate during the Easter liturgical season. Please see theReligious Education page for more information.

  • The category of Christian Witness allows baptized, practicing, non-Catholic Christians to take part in the Catholic baptismal ceremony. This is to allow both sides of the family in a mixed-religion marriage to be part of the ceremony.

  • Catholics are not eligible to be Christian Witnesses.

  • Baptisms are regularly held each Sunday, following the 11:00 a.m. Mass and Saturday evenings following the 5:15 p.m. Mass.

Sacrament of Confirmation:

The Sacrament of Confirmation perfects our Baptism and brings us the graces of the Holy Spirit that were granted to the Apostles on Pentecost Sunday.

While the sacrament of Confirmation had previously been conferred on youth in 10th grade or higher in our diocese, Archbishop Aquila has started a Restored Order campaign to “make available every sacramental grace the Church has to offer to children who have reached the age of reason.” You may learn more about it here. Confirmation will be moved to its historical order between Baptism and First Eucharist. Preparation for being Confirmed begins in September, to meet our Archdiocesan requirement of a year of formal religious education before receiving a sacrament, and the sacrament is received during the Easter season. Our parish is working to move our Confirmation classes down to the third grade level, but are currently offering the class for sixth, seventh, and eighth graders beginning in the fall. Don’t worry if your child has past third grade without receiving the sacrament of Confirmation; we will have classes available for them.

Sacrament of Holy Communion:

Also known as the Eucharist (which literally means “giving thanks”), the sacrament of Holy Communion is the reception of Christ’s Body and Blood and the source of great graces that sanctify us and help us grow in the likeness of Jesus Christ.

Like Reconciliation, the sacrament of Holy Communion can be received many times. We celebrate the liturgy of the Eucharist as part of every Mass. Please note that to receive Holy Communion at Mass, you should have made your First Eucharist, not be conscious of a grave sin, and normally have fasted for one hour. You can learn more about these guidelines here.

Currently youths in the second grade prepare for both their First Reconciliation and First Eucharist. Classes start in fall and sacraments are received during the Easter season. Please note that there is a required meeting in the fall for parents of children receiving these sacraments. Once we have fully transitioned to the Restored Order campaign, youths in the third grade will prepare for the sacraments of Confirmation and First Eucharist. The Archdiocesan guidelines state that the children are to have a year of formal religious education before a sacramental year of celebration.

Sacraments of Healing

The sacraments of healing, Reconciliation and Anointing of the Sick, are those sacraments intended to bring about spiritual healing and occasionally, miraculously, physical healing as well.

Sacrament of Reconciliation:

Also known as Confession or Penance, the sacrament of Reconciliation in a great source of grace, in reconciling us to God. Catholics are encouraged to take advantage of it often, even if they are not aware of having committed a mortal sin. Those who receive this sacrament of mercy receive the gifts of forgiveness and divine inner peace. Confessions are heard in the church every Saturday from 4:00 to 5:00 pm. and on Wednesday mornings from 7:00 to 7:45 am. Communal Penance Services, with an opportunity for individual confession and absolution, are held twice a year during the seasons of Advent and Lent.

Examination of Conscience Resource

Youths in second grade prepare to receive their First Reconciliation. Classes begin in the fall and there is a mandatory parent meeting.

Sacrament of the Anointing of the Sick:

The sacrament of the Anointing of the Sick is administered to the dying as well as to those who are gravely ill or about to undergo a serious operation. This sacrament of mercy and healing offers prayers for the recovery, but its primary intention is to give spiritual strength and calm the soul of the one suffering from illness. Traditionally, this sacrament was referred to as Extreme Unction or Last Rites.

Sacraments of Vocation

The sacraments of vocation, Holy Orders and Marriage, are the sacraments that guide many, but not all of us, through our stations in life. Not every Catholic will receive either one of these sacraments.